Thirteen Spiral Stars: Book 2 of The Last Skywatcher Series

Thirteen Spiral Stars: Book 2 of The Last Skywatcher Series
$14.99eBook: $5.99, free for Kindle Unlimited subscribers
Author:
Series: The Last Skywatcher: Anasazi Historical Thrillers with a Hint of Romance, Book 2
Genre: Historical
Tags: Anasazi Readers Starter Library, Pagosa Springs
Publisher: Hot Water Press
Publication Year: 2016
Length: 326 pages
ASIN: B01E6050QI
ISBN: 1518837506

It’s the year 1093 among the Anasazi at what is now called Chimney Rock National Monument, Colorado…

Tuwa, elder Skywatcher at the Twins, is placed in a precarious position by a gifted potter seeking sanctuary from her brutal father, the High Priest of the canyon, who will not hesitate to destroy anyone to get his daughter’s magical pots. The former messenger for the High Priest, Vingta, and a downtrodden foreign girl, Uva, find themselves desperately protecting Tuwa and the potter girl against swarms of cannibal warriors.

Buy from Amazon Kindle
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
About the Book

This is Book 2 of 10 in The Last Skywatcher Series, set in A.D. 1093, thirty-six years after the prequel, The Next Skywatcher. Join Tuwa, the Snake Maiden Chumana, Vingta, Uva, and Sooveni as they navigate the treacherous world of a failing Anasazi culture that is desperately trying to retain the power structure of its past.


If you have ever stood among Anasazi ruins and wondered what these people were like, this series is for you.

After two difficult years spent amassing a fortune in a shiny, rare mineral, Vingta was finally poised to entice the wives of the High Priest into a bidding frenzy that would make him the richest trader in the canyon.

But with upcoming ceremonies to honor the full moon rising on the shortest night of the year, canyon warriors pressed everyone into work gangs for frantic last-minute finishing touches on the big palaces of the canyon, and even traders like Vingta were not immune. Worse, the wives, and even the High Priest himself, were in a frantic state of desire over a new kind of pottery with a striking symbol of a spiral shooting-star. Even if he could enter the canyon unmolested, his shiny baubles would have little value.

Worse, for the first time in their history, pilgrims were streaming not to the canyon for the full moon/solstice ceremony, but to a New North Town on the banks of the big river sixty miles north of Chaco Canyon. No one was safe from the oppressive response from the canyon.

A strange foreign girl named Uva joins Vingta as they trail after Sooveni, master potter, maker of the disruptive new style of pottery. They meet the legendary Snake Maiden and her husband, Tuwa, master skywatcher at the Twins, the Anasazi outpost at Chimney Rock in Colorado, just as they are attacked by warriors from the canyon. They must run for their lives, and Vingta must choose between worldly riches and the values of love, honor, respect, and friendship.


Perfect for these readers

This series of Anasazi thrillers with a hint of romance will especially appeal to readers who like Tony and Anne Hillerman’s series featuring Navajo Tribal Policemen Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, the romantic interplay between the main characters of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series, and the pace and style of thrillers by Greg Iles.


About the Author

Jeff Posey, a former geologist-turned-magazine writer, crafts novels inspired by the Anasazi culture of a thousand years ago.

“Cultures that have dramatically collapsed,” he says, “should at least compel us to dream up stories about how such things can happen.”

Other Books in "The Last Skywatcher: Anasazi Historical Thrillers with a Hint of Romance"
Look Inside
Some links on this page contain an affiliate code from which Hot Water Press earns a small commission. This is disclosed in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."